Trail Running in FNQ

There are various trail runs, training runs and races available to those who live in the Cairns Region. Anyone is welcome to join in.

Dynamic Running also caters for road runners and provide training for beginners through to ultra runners. Visit their website for dates of upcoming road races, including the Dynamic in a Dress Running Festival.

Dates for trail running events and training runs:

Dates are subject to change, so check our facebook event page or event calendar page on our website closer to the day for more details.

Date Time Event and registration link Distance Location
Sun, 4 Nov 2018 8.00am Trail Series:  Atherton Forest Trail Race

https://regonline.activeglobal.com/atherton2018

6km or 10km Mt Baldy walking track
Sun, 18 Nov 2018 8.00am Black Mountain Trail Training run

https://www.facebook.com/events/1495304397191192/

10 o 21.1km  Twin Bridges
Sun, 25 Nov 2018 7.00am Trail Series:  Black Mountain Trail Race

https://regonline.activeglobal.com/blackmountain2018

21.1km or 35km  Twin Bridges
Sat, 16 Feb 5.00pm Smithfield Trail Race

https://regonline.activeglobal.com/smithfield2019feb

5-8km Smithfield Conservation  Park, Macgregor Road
Sun, 12 May 7.00am Kauri Half Marathon 3M3D training run #1 10km, 21.1km Kuranda Visitor’s Centre
Fri, 24 May 4.00pm Great Barrier Reef Masters Trail Race

https://gbrmg.com.au/sports/running

5.5km, 8km, 11km Smithfield Conservation  Park, Macgregor Road
7.00am Day 2 of 3M3D training run #2 35km Cedar Park Road
Sun, 16 June 7.00am FREE Training Run: Cairns Marathon (18+ only) #3 42km + Clohsey River Road to base of Lake Morris
Thurs, 11 July 6.00pm-9.30pm 3M3D Buffet Meal

https://regonline.activeglobal.com/3M3Dparty2019

Cairns Colonial Club Resort, 18-26 Cannon St, Manunda
3 Marathons in 3 Days races

https://regonline.activeglobal.com/3M3D2019

Fri, 12 July 7.00am 5th Kauri Half Marathon (16+ only, conditions apply) 21.1km Kuranda
Fri-Sun, 12-14 July 7.00am 8th Grand Slam 3M3D (18+ only) 126.6km Kuranda / Tablelands / Cairns
Sun, 15 July 7.00am 8th Cairns Marathon (18+ only) 42.2km Cedar Park, Cedar Park Road
Sun, 14 July 9.00am 2nd Lake Morris Road Race 16km Copperlode Dam
Kuranda to Port Douglas races

https://regonline.activeglobal.com/k2pd2019

Sun, 25 Aug 6.00am 9th Kuranda to Port Douglas 64km Trail Race (18+ only) 64km Black Mountain Rd/Kennedy Highway
Sun, 25 Aug 6.00am 9th Kuranda to Port Douglas, 64km Relay  (16+ only, conditions apply) 2-4 team members, 64km total Black Mountain Rd/Kennedy Highway
Sun, 25 Aug 9.00am 9th Bump to Beach Trail Race (16+ only, conditions apply) 16km Top of Bump, Black Mountain Rd
Sun, 15 Sept 7.00am Trail Series: Smithfield Trail Race

https://regonline.activeglobal.com/smithfield2019sept

5 or 8km Smithfield Conservation  Park, Macgregor Road
Sun, 3 Nov 8.00am Trail Series:  Atherton Forest Trail Race

https://regonline.activeglobal.com/atherton2019

6km or 10km Mt Baldy walking track
Sun, 17 Nov 8.00am Black Mountain Trail Training run 10 o 21.1km
Sun, 24 Nov 7.00am Trail Series:  Black Mountain Trail Race

https://regonline.activeglobal.com/blackmountain2019

21.1km or 35km